You are here

Mitzi Trahan, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor

Office: Picard Center, Room 260
Office Telephone Number: (337) 482-5744
Email Address:
Courses I teach: 

  • EDLD 801 - Writing for Research 
  • EDLD 803 - Qualitative Research 
  • EDLD 832 - Educational Evaluation
  • EDLD 875 - Research Design 
  • EDLD 880 - Research Practicum 
  • EDLD 900 - Dissertation Seminar


  • COUN 501 - Counseling Research
  • EDLD 504 - Using Research to Lead Educational Change


  • EDFL 201 - Educational Psychology: Principles of Teaching 
  • EDFL 456 - Classroom Assessment

Dr. Trahan is an Associate Professor in the Educational Foundation and Leadership department. Dr. Trahan received her doctorate in Educational Leadership and Research from Louisiana State University. Prior to coming to higher education as a professor, she had two distinct careers. First, she has 15 years of experience in the business and finance sector as a CPA and bank comptroller.  She also worked as a Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) in mental health arenas and higher education student services. Dr. Trahan has an active scholarly record with multiple publications and presentations focusing on educational technology, research and evaluation, and a variety of educational topics such as leadership, teacher evaluation, and accountability. At the graduate level – masters and doctoral - her teaching experience primarily centers on research methodology, statistics, evaluation, and classroom assessment but she has also taught courses in a variety of the counseling, psychology, and classroom management topics.

Comprehensive Curriculum Vitae

Educational Background:
Ph.D. Education Leadership and Research, Louisiana State University
Masters of Art in Education: Community Counseling and Human Development, Louisiana State University
Bachelor of Science in Accounting, Southeastern Louisiana University

Dissertation: A structural equation modeling approach to identifying factors that contribute to the impact MyMathLab has on commitment and integration of technology. Co-chairs: Roland Mitchell and Andrew Schwarz.